AITUC: AITUC wins five of 11 Singareni recognised trade union elections | Hyderabad News

HYDERABAD: The All-India Trade Union Congress (AITUC), affiliated to the Communist Party of India (CPI), emerged as the recognised union of Singareni Collieries Company Limited (SCCL) by winning five areas (divisions) of total 11 divisions in the coal mines. The Congress backed Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC) won six divisions. Though the INTUC got one seat more than the AITUC, taking the percent of votes into account, the CPI affiliated union was declared as the recognised union of the coal company.
According to officials, while the AITUC’s the Singareni Collieries Workers Union secured 43.20% of the total polled votes (16,177), the INTUC’s the Singareni Coal Mines Labour Union got 37.86% votes (14,178 votes). BRS party’s Telangana Boggu Gani Karmika Sangam (TBGKS) got only 3.47% votes with 1298 votes.
Returning officer of the SCCL elections and deputy chief labour commissioner Srinivasulu announced that AITUC won Bellampally, Mandamarri, Srirampur, Ramagundam-1, and Ramagundam-2 areas, while the INTUC secured Kothagudem corporate areas, Kothagudem, Manuguru, Yellandu, Bhupalapally and Ramagundam-3 areas.
The SCCL polls are prestigious for the political parties as nearly 40,000 workers spread across the 11 assembly constituencies play a crucial role in the elections. The recognised union will deal with the management and have a say in the workers’ issues.
In the fierce battle, where 13 various trade unions participated in the elections, while the AITUC which had just two divisions of 11 in the previous elections, now rose to the recognised union and the INTUC, that did not have a single division earlier, bagged six divisions. The BRS affiliated trade union Telangana Boggugani Karmika Sangam (TBGKS), which was the recognised union previously drew a blank in the union polls. While Congress party roped in all its elected MLAs from Singareni coal belt areas in the campaigning, the BRS leaders including honorary president of TBGKS K Kavitha stayed away from the campaigning. As a result of the reluctance, several TBGKS leaders left the unions just a week before the elections.
Four trade unions have secured less than 10 votes and two of them got only two votes. According to officials, Praja Telangana Singareni Karmika Sangam got two votes and Shramika Shakti Godavari Loya Boggugani Karmika Sangam also got two votes. Another union Telangana Godavari Loya Boggugani Karmika Sangam got six votes.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *